September 15, 2020
Congratulations to the 47th Student Academy Award Winners!

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences has voted 18 students as winners of the 47th Student Academy Awards competition. And here they are:
For Alternative/Experimental (Domestic and International Film Schools): Curry Sicong Tian, Simulacra, University of Southern California;
Animation (Domestic Film Schools): Pilar Garcia-Fernandezsesma, Ciervo, Rhode Island School of Design; Daniela Dwek, Maya Mendonca and Chrisy Baek, Hamsa, School of Visual Arts; Kate Namowicz and Skyler Porras, Mime Your Manners, Ringling College of Art & Design
Animation (International Film Schools): Pascal Schelbli, The Beauty, Filmakademie Baden-Württemberg (Germany) Documentary (Domestic Film Schools): Allison A. Waite, The Dope Years: The Story of Latasha Harlins, University of Southern California; Laura Zéphirin, Making Waves, New York University; Yucong Chen, Unfinished Lives, University of Southern California
Documentary (International Film Schools): Maren Klakegg, Dear Father… Westerdals Institute of Film and Media, Kristiania University College (Norway)
Narrative (Domestic Film Schools): Karishma Dube, Bittu, New York University; Rommel Villa Barriga, Sweet Potatoes, University of Southern California; Talia Smith, Umama, New York University
Narrative (International Film Schools): Percival Argüero Mendoza, Crescendo, Centro de Capacitación Cinematográfica (Mexico); Marie Mc Court, I Was Still There When You Left Me, Institut des Arts de Diffusion (Belgium); German Golub, My Dear Corpses, Baltic Film & Media School, Tallinn University (Estonia)
First-time honors go to Baltic Film & Media School, Tallinn University, Estonia, and Institut des Arts de Diffusion, Belgium.
Once again, congratulations!  

September 3, 2020
Russian Independent Animation Founder Anatoly Prokhorov has Passed Away!

Anatoly Prokhorov, the co-founder of both Pilot and Petersburg Animation Studio and a force behind Russian independent animation, died this past Sunday from Leukemia. He was 72.
As a director, writer, producer and teacher, he guided an entire generation of Russian animation artists and filmmakers. He is also well-known for creating the traditional animated childrens’ series, Kikoriki (Smeshariki).  

August 27, 2020
Animation Icon, Animator, Writer and Producer Joe Ruby has Passed Away!

Joe Ruby, one of the most well-known and respected Saturday morning cartoon innovators in the history of animation died Thursday of natural causes. He was 87. Ruby began his animation career as an inbetweener at Disney and eventually moved to Hanna-Barbara Productions where he met Ken Spears. Along with Spears, he went on to create some of the most beloved Saturday morning cartoons ever, including Scooby-Doo, Dynomutt, Dog Wonder, and Jabberjaw.
He is survived by Carole, his wife of 63 years, four children and 10 grandchildren.  

August 6, 2020
LAIKA Animation Celebrates 15 Years of Stop-Motion Animation

This month marks the 15 year anniversary of the groundbreaking stop motion animation studio LAIKA and the Animation Hall of Fame would like to congratulate them on this wonderful accomplishment. LAIKA has pushed the boundaries of family entertainment and animated movies, redefining how stories can be told through the art form.  

July 28, 2020
Bugs Bunny’s 80th Anniversary Collection collector’s set coming to Blu-ray.

Warner Bros. Home Entertainment has announced the release of the Bugs Bunny 80th Anniversary Collection collector’s set featuring 60 theatrical shorts on Blu-ray, plus a full-size Bugs Bunny glitter Funko figure, available in stores on December 1, 2020. The collection includes a digital copy of the 60 original theatrical shorts, a new documentary, 10 episodes of the Looney Tunes Cartoons - the new HBO Max series produced by Warner Bros. Animation - and an introductory letter from animation historian Jerry Beck.  

April 20, 2020
Oscar Winning Animation Director and Innovator Gene Deitch has Passed Away!

The Animation Hall Of Fame family is sad to acknowledge the passing of Academy Award winning legendary director, animator, cartoonist, and author Gene Deitch. He was 95.
Gene won an Oscar in 1961 for his animated short, Munro, about a 4-year-old boy accidentally drafted into the US Army; he had four other Oscar nominations, including two in the same year, 1964, for Here’s Nudnik and How to Avoid Friendship. His numerous other honors included a 2004 ASIFA Hollywood Winsor McCay Award for a lifetime of achievement in animation.
He created many memorable cartoon characters, including Tom Terrific, adapted from his comic strip, and first shown on the Captain Kangaroo TV show; Mighty Manfred; Sydney the Elephant; and Nudnik, among others. He has 112 directing credits on his IMDB record, which I suspect is incomplete. He directed 13 episodes of Tom and Jerry, 28 of Popeye the Sailor, and 34 of Krazy Kat. Between 1969 and 2008, he adapted and directed 37 animated films for Weston Woods.
He is survived by his wife and producing partner, Zdenka, and three children from his first marriage.  

Back to top
February 9, 2020
And The Winners Are!

The Animation Hall of Fame is proud to announce and congratulate this year's Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Oscar winners for Best Animated Film and Best Animated Short Film. The winner for Best Animated Film was awarded to Toy Story 4, which was directed by Josh Cooley and produced by Mark Nielsen and Jonas Rivera. The winner for Best Animated Short Film was awarded to Hair Love, which was directed by Matthew A. Cherry and produced by Karen Rupert Tolliver. Once again congratulations!  

Back to top
January 7, 2020
LAIKA’S Missing Link Wins Golden Globe for Best Animated Motion Picture!

The Animation Hall of Fame is extremely happy to announce that the 77th Golden Globe Award for Best Animated Feature has gone to LAIKA’S Writer/director Chris Butler and producer Arianne Sutner for Missing Link. It is the studios 5th animated feature and their first major award win.  

Back to top
January 6, 2020
AHOF's Journey Into IMAGIMATION Ends it’s Successful Run at the Art Museum of South Texas in Corpus Christi, Texas!

AHOF's travelling exhibition Journey Into IMAGIMATION: Over a Hundred Years of Animation Art From Around The World has closed at the absolutely wonderful Art Museum of South Texas venue in Corpus Christi, Texas. We would like to thank everyone who assisted us at this great museum and also to all of our new Animation Hall of Fame friends and artists in Corpus Christi.  

Back to top